Visitor Information
Contact us


Why Teach the Holocaust
Book a Tour
School Programs
Teaching Resources
Online & Multimedia
Outreach Speakers
Professional Development
Teacher Mailing List


Library & Collection

Survivor Testimonies

Annual Reports
Zachor Newsletter
Wosk Publishing

support us
Tribute Cards

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!
image image



50 - 950 West 41st Ave,
Vancouver BC, V5Z 2N7 Canada

P: 604.264.0499
F: 604.264.0497
E: info@vhec.org

Professional development
image Biennial Shafran Teachers' Conference


Held every two years, the conference attracts educators from across British Columbia and elsewhere. This day-long event offers participants an opportunity to hear from internationally renowned speakers, historians and educators at the forefront of Holocaust studies. Educators share best practices related to teaching the Holocaust in elementary, secondary and university settings.

Inaugurated in 1999, the conference is made possible by the David & Lil Shafran Endowment Fund of the VHEC.
Sponsored by the David & Lil Shafran Endowment Fund of the VHEC. Azrieli memoirs and DVDs have been generously donated by The Azrieli Series of Holocaust Survivor Memoirs. Conference supplies have been generously donated by Mills Office Productivity. Generous support by the Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver and Globalme Language & Technology.



Kron Sigal Award for Excellence
in Holocaust Education

Download the 2016 Kron Sigal Award
Information and Nomination Form

Previous Recipients of the Kron Sigal Award

Kron Sigal Award Recipient 2016

At its Annual General Meeting on June 8th, the Vancouver Holocaust Education Centre proudly presented the 2016 Kron Sigal Award for Excellence in Holocaust Education to Eyal Daniel of Buckingham Elementary in Burnaby, BC and Stephanie Henderson of Seaquam Secondary, Delta, BC.

The Kron Award for Excellence in Holocaust Education was established in memory of Meyer and Gita Kron, Lithuanian Holocaust survivors who re-established their lives in Vancouver and maintained a life-long commitment to education. It is presented annually to a BC teacher who has demonstrated dedication to teaching students about the Holocaust and its important lessons for humankind.

A few years ago, the award was renamed to include their daughter, Ruth Kron Sigal, who survived the Holocaust in hiding, and who passed away in December 2008. Ruth was a VHEC outreach speaker and community leader, serving as Director of the Women’s Resource Centre at UBC for over 25 years. She was a regular speaker at the VHEC's Annual Symposium on the Holocaust.