Teaching the Holocaust can be challenging. The VHEC supports teachers and educators by providing regular professional development opportunities led by experts in Holocaust education.

Have you developed a unique course or resource that teaches about the Holocaust? You may consider applying for our Kron Sigal Award for Excellence in Holocaust Education that recognizes annually a BC teacher who has demonstrated special distinction in the field.

Professional Development

Shafran Teachers’ Conference

Held every two years, the conference attracts educators from across British Columbia and elsewhere. This day-long event offers participants an opportunity to hear from internationally renowned speakers, historians and educators at the forefront of Holocaust studies. Educators share best practices related to teaching the Holocaust in elementary, secondary and university settings.

Sponsored by the David & Lil Shafran Endowment Fund of the VHEC.


Kron Sigal Award for Excellence in Holocaust Education

The Kron Award for Excellence in Holocaust Education is presented annually to a BC teacher who has demonstrated dedication to teaching students about the Holocaust and its important lessons for humankind.

The award was established in memory of Meyer and Gita Kron, Lithuanian Holocaust survivors who re-established their lives in Vancouver and maintained a life-long commitment to education. A few years ago, the award was renamed to include their daughter, Ruth Kron Sigal, who survived the Holocaust in hiding, and who passed away in December 2008. Ruth was a VHEC outreach speaker and community leader, serving as Director of the Women’s Resource Centre at UBC for over 25 years.  She was a regular speaker at the VHEC’s Annual Symposium on the Holocaust.

2018 Kron Sigal Award Recipients

Sharon Doyle (right)
& Julie Mason (left)

At its Annual General Meeting on June 20th, the Vancouver Holocaust Education Centre proudly presented the 2018 Kron Sigal Award for Excellence in Holocaust Education to Sharon Doyle who teaches at South Delta Secondary, Delta, BC and Julie Mason, a teacher at David Oppenheimer Elementary, Vancouver BC.

Congratulations to these outstanding educators.

Meet Previous Award Recipients.